Hit and Run Auto Accident Attorneys Protecting the Rights of the Injured
Skilled personal injury attorneys serving clients throughout East Tennessee
Do you find yourself feeling surprised when you hear about a hit and run accident on the news when the driver actually remains at the scene? Perhaps it is because it is rare. In the major cities across the United States hit and run accidents are on the rise. The NHTSA reports that there were 1,449 fatal hit and run motor vehicle accidents in 2011, the most up-to-date information available.
At the Rocky McElhaney Law Firm we are here to help you obtain justice when you have been injured in an accident where the other driver fled the scene. We know that all car crashes are frightening, but that hit and runs are exceptionally so. From our offices in Nashville, Hendersonville and Knoxville, we build strong cases to protect the rights of our clients after they have suffered a serious injury.
Penalties for leaving the scene of an accident
In Tennessee as in almost every other jurisdiction, you are required by law to stop at the scene of an accident that you have been involved in. If there is bodily injury or property damage in excess of $50 you must call the police. You must render aid by bringing the injured party to safety or calling an ambulance immediately. You must give the other party in the accident your contact information: name, address, phone number, license number, vehicle registration and insurance company information.
If you violate your duty to stop and render aid you are committing the crime of leaving the scene of an accident. If the accident resulted in property damage that was less than $400, you may face Class C misdemeanor charges and a sentence of up to 30 days in jail, a fine of $50 and a drivers' education class.
If the property damage was more than $400, you may face Class C misdemeanor charges and a potential jail sentence of 30 days, license suspension and a fine of $50.
In the case of injury or death, you could face Class A misdemeanor charges and up to a year in jail, fines of up to $2,500 and a suspended license. In cases where the accident was severe and the court determines that you should have known that a death occurred because of it, you could face felony charges and a prison sentence of 1-6 years. (See Tenn. Code Ann. 55-10-101)
Work with an experienced hit and run accident attorney
With the increasing number of people being involved in hit and run accidents, we at Rocky McElhaney Law Firm have helped countless people get compensation for their injuries and losses. Sometimes we are able to discover the identity of the driver who ran because of a witness statement or by tracing their plates, or because they turned themselves in to the authorities. We then do everything possible to hold them accountable for their actions. When we are unable to track down the driver who left the scene we can help you file a claim with your own insurance company under the uninsured/ underinsured motorist coverage on your policy.
Related information on hit and run accidents in Nashville
Find out what Rocky McElhaney Law Firm can do for you after a hit and run accident
When you have survived the anguish of having been injured in a hit and run car accident, you want justice for the wrong that was done to you. The Nashville auto accident attorneys at the Rocky McElhaney Law Firm are ready to take on the legal challenge on your behalf and win the compensation you need to get on with your life. You may schedule a free initial consultation to discuss your case by calling 615-425-2500 or filling out our contact form. We serve clients in Nashville, Hendersonville and Knoxville and throughout Tennessee.